top of page

Seungyeon Baik
3rd Prize

Nationality: South Korea

Age: 24

Stage: Final


STAGE ONE - SELECTION: Gaspar Cassado, Dance of the Green Devil; Krzysztof Penderecki, Divertimento for Solo Cello; Luigi Boccherini, Cello Sonata in A major "L'Imperatrice";  Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky, Variations on a Rococo Theme, Op. 33

SEMIFINAL: J.S. Bach, Cello Suite No. 6, Preludio, Sarabanda, Giga

FINAL: G. Crumb, Sonata for Cello Solo

South Korean cellist Seungyeon Baik, born in 1999, is now based in Berlin to study at the Universität der Künste Berlin with Prof. Jens Peter Maintz. Before that, she studied at Korea National University of Arts with Tsuyoshi Tsutsumi, Kangho Lee and Sunyee Chung.

In 2019, she was the 1st prize winner of the David Popper International Cello Competition (Hungary) and won the second prize at the Vienna Classic Strings International Competition (Austria). In Korea, she won the first prize in many competitions such as the Seongjeong Competition and the TBC Music competition.

Seungyeon has performed as a soloist with the KBS Symphony Orchestra, the Mozart Collegium Orchestra, the Incheon Philharmonic, the Gyeongbuk Symphony Orchestra, the Seoul National Symphony Orchestra, the Südwestdeutsches Kammerorchester Pforzheim and the Emirates Youth Symphony Orchestra.

She has also appeared at Kirishima International Music Festival Winner's Awards Concert (Japan), Rutesheim cello festival, Korea-Philippines Relations 70th Anniversary Concert (Philippines), Hungary Korean Cultural Center Opening Performance (Hungary),Rhinluch Festival,  Emirates Young Prodigies Music Festival (Dubai), Asia Pacific Cello Congress in Suntoryhall (Japan), University of Indiana (US), and Andre Navarra Tribute Concert.

In Korea, she performed recitals at Kumho Art hall, Kukje Art Hall, TLI Art center, Korea National University of Arts Hall, Mozart Hall, and Maria Callas Hall.

She has taken part in numerous masterclasses, taught by Miklos Perenyi, Wolfgang Emanuel Schmidt, Arto Noras, Laurence Lesser, Peter Bruns,Clive Greensmith, Troels Svane, Li Wei Qin and Wen-Sinn Yang.

bottom of page